Employee Recognition

Recognizing outstanding Bay College employees

Bay College TORCH Award

The Bay College TORCH Award gives personal recognition to those employees on Bay College’s campuses dedicated to the mission of the College because of their attitude, commitment, and dedication toward the higher education learning environment.

  • Team player
  • Outstanding performance
  • Responsive to others
  • Conscientious to the mission of Bay College
  • Helpful to all
TORCH Award Recipient
Penney Parmet

Penney Parmet

Congratulations to Penney Parmet, Bay College's quarterly TORCH Award winner. Penney teaches classes in Interpersonal Communication, Exploring Teaching and Educational Psychology.

Past TORCH Award Recipients
  • Sherri Mangan, Instructor
  • Lindsey Slifka, Instructor
  • Amy Reddinger, Staff 
  • Jonathan Lane, Staff
  • Susan Sundstrom-Young, Instructor
  • Renee Lundberg, Staff
  • Linda Varda, Staff
  • Jessica LaMarch, Staff
  • Edie Erickson, Staff
  • Joseph Mold, Staff
  • Aaron Kippola, Staff
  • Melissa VanBrocklin, Staff
  • Brit Slade, Instructor
  • Spencer Slade, Instructor
  • Pat Ogle, Staff
  • Andrew Paulson, Instructor

Outstanding Educator Awards

Beginning January and ending mid-February each year, nominations are accepted for the faculty Outstanding Educator Award. Each year, one to six Bay College instructors are selected as the college's Outstanding Educators. Full-time faculty must have a full-time appointment at the college for three years or more and be tenured at the time of nomination. Part-time faculty must have completed 32 contact hours of teaching for Bay College. In addition, they must be currently teaching or have taught within the last twelve months. Commitment to education and excellence in service are the primary focuses of this award.

2020 Outstanding Full-Time Faculty
Karl Linderoth smiling

Karl Linderoth

Nanci Love smiling

Nanci Love

2020 Outstanding Part-Time Faculty
Terri Doepker smiling

Terri Doepker

Andrew Paulsen smiling

Andrew Paulsen

Outstanding Staff Awards

During the month of February, nominations are accepted for full-time or regular part-time non-faculty employee(s) for the Bay College Outstanding Staff Award. Each year, one to two Bay College administrative and support staff employee(s) are selected as Bay College’s outstanding staff member(s). These individuals must have completed three years of employment in the eligible categories at Bay College.

2020 Outstanding Staff
Renae Highum smiling

Renae Highum
Enrollment/Admissions Facilitator

Dave Laur smiling

Dave Laur
Director of Student Life

Outstanding Student Employee Award

During the month of February, nominations are accepted for the Outstanding Student Employee Award. Each year, one student employee (work-study, student workers, tutors, peer mentors, SI leader, RA, etc.) is selected for the Bay College’s Outstanding Student Employee Award. This individual must have worked during the 2019-2020 academic year. If the student graduated in December they are still eligible for the award. Also, the student needs to be enrolled in a minimum of 6 Bay College credits while working.

2020 Outstanding Student Employee
Colby Torvinen smiling

Colby Torvinen
Student Employee