Federal Work-Study

Explore campus employment opportunities

Male student smiling at camera outside on campus

What is Federal Work-Study?

Employment opportunities on campus are offered through the Federal Work-Study Program.  Off campus employment with local nonprofit, governmental, and community-based organizations is available using Federal Work-Study Community Service funds.

Who is Eligible for Federal Work-Study?

Eligibility is determined by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Students exhibiting financial need and indicate interest on the FAFSA for the Work-Study Program are eligible. A Work-study application is accessible through the students award offer.  An award reflects the maximum amount a student may earn. The actual amount depends on the number of hours worked and rate of pay. A student must be enrolled at least half time (6 credits required for the students program of study) and maintain satisfactory academic progress standards to work. A Work-Study award is not a guarantee of employment, but early applicants have the best chance of being offered a position of choice.


What are the Benefits of Working on Campus?

The purpose of the Federal Work-Study Program is to give students an opportunity to develop skills, gain on-the-job experience for future employment, work around class schedules, and help finance their college education.

How Do I Apply?

Students can apply for Federal Work-study positions through the Financial Aid Office. Eligible students receive application information from their award offer. Students who are unsure of their eligibility should contact the Financial Aid Office. For more information, log into the myFinaid portal or contact the Financial Aid Office.

It shall be the policy of the Bay de Noc Community College Board of Trustees to assure the provisions of equal opportunity and equal access in educational acts. These provisions apply in all areas of employment, student services, and instructional programs. Discrimination because of any legally protected status, which includes but is not limited to, race, color, religion, creed, gender, national origin, political affiliation, age, height, weight, disability, marital or veteran status is prohibited.